I don’t think any girl thinks “I want to be a single mother when I grow up”, I know that it never crossed my mind when I was a little girl. Sure I wanted the family and the whole “Happily Ever After” business, but I never even wondered what it would be like to raise kids on my own. In fact the life I have with my kids and their father is the farthest thing from what I had imagined. My kids have been witnesses to fighting between myself and their father that I would have preferred to have avoided. I’ve had to sacrifice a lot in my life to make sure that I can give my kids a stable, safe life.

Most of the time I feel as if I am actually two different people forced to share the same piece of flesh. I am Teresa and I am Mother and I am being pulled in two different directions. There are a couple people I have in my life that have helped my fuse the two together and I am extremely grateful to have them in my life. They helped me by letting me be myself, whether it’s listening to me bitch and complain about my life, hanging out with me and my kids, supporting me in what ever I chose to do, and opening my eyes to new things. As sappy as this sounds I believe that I am a better person because of these people. Your quality of life really does reflect who you let into your life.

Happily Ever After??

Leave a Reply

